SBL Select Team – Tour of Malaysia

SBL Select Team – Tour of Malaysia

SBL Select Team – Tour of Malaysia

The State Basketball League has been invited to nominate a team into the Sarawak Chief Minister Cup International Basketball Invitational Championship, 2017.

The SBL accepted this invitation and will send an All Australian, SBL Select Team to compete in the tournament which will be held on September 19 – 22, 2017.

The tournament will consist of teams from Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong and the Philippines, with the SBL the only team included from Australia.

The teams from Malaysia, Hong Kong and Thailand will all include U.S. Imports.

In a recent Media Release, Saraway Sepak Takraw Association (PSS) President Dato Sri Abang Khalid Abang Marzuki said, “The Championship will not only help to promote sports tourism in Sarawak particularly in Miri but the people will be able to witness the world-class players in action.

“Our heartiest thanks to the Chief Minister for his full support on the organising of the event as well as our appreciation to Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah for his strong support,” added Khalid.

“Apart from spurring the sports tourism industry, the championship is also aimed at raising the interest of the people in this traditional sport,” he said.

With Basketball WA and the SBL developing a strong relationship with Malaysia, having had their International Women’s team attend Perth to compete in the SBL Pre-Season Blitz earlier in the year, this is a great opportunity to further develop connections with the Basketball community throughout Asia.

Head Coach for this year’s SBL Select Team will be two time SBL Coach of the Year, Current Perry Lakes Hawks Men’s SBL and Basketball WA Under 20’s State Team Coach, Matt Parsons.

SBL SELECT TEAM: Jackson Hussey (Geraldton), Mat Wundenberg (Geraldton), Matt Hancock (Geraldton), Drew Williamson (East Perth), Travis Hayto (Perry Lakes), Rob Cassir (Perry Lakes), Rhett Della (Cockburn), Chudier Pal (Rockingham), Ben Smith (Perth) and Zac Gattorna (Perth).COACHING STAFF: Matt Parsons (Head Coach), Conrad Francis (Assistant Coach), Lennon Smartt (Assistant Coach), Laurie Trengove (Manager).

Related News