2019 SBL Awards
SBL, Slider, Trending

2019 SBL Awards

The BWA Annual Awards Gala took place at the Crown Perth on Saturday 7th September where our 2019 SBL Award winners were announced;

WSBL Most Valuable Player – Stacey Barr (Warwick Senators)
MSBL Most Valuable Player – Josh Braun (Kalamunda Eastern Suns)

WSBL Coach of the Year – Craig Watts (Mandurah Magic)
MSBL John Gardiner Coach of the Year – Dave Daniels (Lakeside Lightning)

WSBL Most Improved Player – Matilda Muir (Cockburn Cougars)
MSBL Most Improved Player – Luke Travers (Rockingham Flames)

SBL Referee of the Year – Steve Diconza
SBL Most Improved Referee of the Year – Zac Bosnakis
SBL Referee Coach of the Year – (tied) Geoff Schulz & John Stone

All-WSBL 1st Team:
Guard – Lauren Mansfield (Perth Redbacks)
Guard – Stacey Barr (Warwick Senators)
Forward – Laina Snyder (Willetton Tigers)
Forward – Darcee Garbin (Rockingham Flames)
Centre – Amber Land (Joondalup Wolves)

All-MSBL 1st Team:
Guard – Marshall Nelson (Perth Redbacks)
Guard – Josh Braun (Kalamunda Eastern Suns)
Forward – Gavin Field (Cockburn Cougars)
Forward – Greg Hire (Rockingham Flames
Centre – Patrick Burke (Goldfields Giants)

All-WSBL Defensive Team:
Guard – Emma Gandini (Willetton Tigers)
Guard – Casey Mihovilovich (Mandurah Magic)
Forward – Desiree Kelley (Willetton Tigers)
Forward – Jennie Rintala (Kalamunda Eastern Suns)
Centre – Maddie Allen (Rockingham Flames)

All-MSBL Defensive Team:
Guard – Cameron Williams (East Perth Eagles)
Guard – Dave Humphries (Goldfields Giants)
Forward – Ben Purser (Perry Lakes Hawks)
Forward – Maurice Barrow (Willetton Tigers)
Centre – Jarrad Prue (Lakeside Lightning)

Journalist of the Year – Stuart Horton (Sound Telegraph)
Electronic Media of the Year – SBL Slam Radio Show (Sonshine FM 98.5)
Print Media of the Year – Sound Telegraph
Electronic Story of the Year – Tom Joyner (ABC Goldfields-Esperance)
Print Story of the Year – Justin Fris (South Western Times)
Photo of the Year – “Passion” Natasha Gilmartin (Arctic Moon Photography)
Personality of the Year – Josh Garlepp (Fox Sports)
Scoretable Official of the Year – Natalie Mippy (Perry Lakes Hawks)
Statistician of the Year – Adrian Holmes (Warwick Senators)
SBL Volunteer of the Year – Warren Boucaut (Rockingham Flames)
Association Volunteer of the Year – Chris Saligari (Kalamunda Districts Basketball Association)
STC Healthy Association of the Year – Cockburn Cougars
Country Administrator of the Year – Nicole Weeden (Albany Basketball)
Arthur McRobbie Award – Cassie Perry (Karratha Basketball)
Participation Program of the Year – Wolfpack Female FUNdamentals with Georgia Denehey (Joondalup Wolves)

WSBL Statistical Awards
FG% – Brittni Montgomery (South West Slammers) 63.01%
3PT% – Stacey Barr (Warwick Senators) 40.4%
FT% – Makailah Dyer (South West Slammers) 79.01%
Steals – Emma Gandini (Willetton Tigers) 3.0pg
Assists – Lauren Mansfield (Perth Redbacks) 5.43pg
Rebounds – Kayla Steindl (Joondalup Wolves) 11.67pg
Blocks – Maddie Allen (Rockingham Flames) 2.45pg
Points – Darcee Garbin (Rockingham Flames) 23.0pg

MSBL Statistical Awards
FG% – Jarrad Prue (Lakeside Lightning) 62.16%
3PT% – Josh Braun (Kalamunda Eastern Suns) 42.9%
FT% – Josh Braun (Kalamunda Eastern Suns) 84.21%
Steals – Michael Lay (South West Slammers) 2.77pg
Assists – Javion Blake (Kalamunda Eastern Suns) 9.68pg
Rebounds – Jarrad Prue (Lakeside Lightning) 18.29pg
Blocks – Manylok Malek (Goldfields Giants) 2.3pg
Points – Marshall Nelson (Perth Redbacks) 27.96pg

WABL Female Player of the Year – Shenae Hartree (Willetton Tigers)
WABL Male Player of the Year – Tom Gerovich (Willetton Tigers)
WABL Female Coach of the Year – Kerry Clarke (Perry Lakes Hawks)
WABL Male Coach of the Year – Mark Clayden (Cockburn Cougars)
WABL Referee of the Year – Corey Hislop (Rockingham Flames)
WABL Volunteer of the Year – Karen Donovan (South West Slammers)

Referee Milestone Recognition Awards
10 Years – Travis Stewart
15 Years – Mark Grist
15 Years – Steve Diconza
15 Years – Geoff Schulz
30 Years – Carey McAllan

WSBL Championship – Rockingham Flames
WSBL Grand Final MVP – Maddie Allen (Rockingham Flames)
MSBL Championship – Geraldton Buccaneers
MSBL Grand Final MVP – Liam Hunt (Geraldton Buccaneers)

Related News